Lessons learned

The Sweet Lullaby of a Carbide Grinder

cropped-sharp-unltd.jpg
My grandfather made this sign for the business

I do not consider myself unique, though I’ve always felt a bit out of place, like I didn’t fit where I was. I grew up as a normal child, in a Christian home in a quiet subdivision. My parents weren’t wealthy and my family wasn’t famous.

What was unusual about my life is that my parents had a machine shop in the houseĀ and I fell asleep to the sound of a carbide blade grinder.

To this day, one of the most comforting smells to me is that of metal shavings and grease. I walk into a machine shop and immediately feel a sense of calm.

When I was nine years old, my parents started their own business sharpening blades and saws. It was and still is a very niche business, with little (but apparently fierce!) competition and carried on for 34 years.

The metal shavings have been cleaned and the shop is physically closed. I am still the daughter of saw sharpeners and the lessons I learned, the faith my parent instilled in me and the resolution to continue in hope, still persist.

My journey is my story: I am finding my place building faith in God and progressing in my field at work. I want to continue serving others and it is my sincere wish to help others find their place, conducting business with integrity, leading themselves and others as sons and daughters of the King.

Leave a Reply

